Gluten-Free Cooking For One

Celiac And The Single Girl, Or: How To Make Food That Does Not Suck For One Person {Although I Suppose You Could Feed Other People, Too}

And, oops, no. Sweetened Condensed Milk Cookies, instead!! Hooray!

Leave a comment

So I started to get out the ingredients for the almond bon-bon cookies, and found I was missing some important ones: sugar, almond essence, and milk. Oops. So, quick change of plan here.

I had a can of sweetened condensed milk in the cupboard, and thought: “there’s got to be a way to use this instead of the sugar. Maybe even the milk, who knows? DREAM BIG.” 5 minutes of research later, and I found this recipe, on jensfavoritecookies.com:
Ta-da!! Cookies.

I had everything for this recipe, so I made it. And they’re delicious, like little not-too-sweet shortbread bites. Of course, I am always sloppy creative with my measuring, so the final recipe ended up like this on my end:

Ingredients
1 cup butter, softened (I only had about 3/4)
3/4 cup sweetened condensed milk (I added an extra 1/4 c to make up for less butter)
2 cups all-purpose flour (I did 1 c Krustease all-purpose, 1 c white rice flour)
3 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
½ cup chocolate chips (not for me)
Cardamom
Cinnamon

Instructions
Mix butter and condensed milk. Add salt, baking powder, spices, and flour, and mix just until combined. Roll into 1-inch balls and place on a baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 8 – 10 minutes (I went 15, because I wanted them a little brown).

They’re really good, and soooo easy to make. I might make a glaze next time, but probably not today, as I’m running short on time.

**Note: if you’re sensitive to saltiness, you might want to cut the salt, and use unsalted butter. This almost tastes a little salty, but not too much for me. Some people might find it too salty. MWAH!

IMG_5410

Author: Christine Na'imah

I am a pretty bubbly person. A dancer, a prancer, and sometimes a vixen. Romantic and striving for grace, but unfortunately the emphasis is on "antic"; occasionally lunatic, trying to be demure. Probably failing.

Leave a Reply

