Gluten-Free Cooking For One

Celiac And The Single Girl, Or: How To Make Food That Does Not Suck For One Person {Although I Suppose You Could Feed Other People, Too}

Onion Rings + Honey Sesame Pork, non-Crock-Pot edition

Leave a comment

I wanted to make the Honey Sesame Chicken recipe again today with pork, but with one thing and another, I left it too late to make in the slow cooker. So, I made it on the stove instead, and it was actually even better this way!

As a side bonus, I figured I’d fry up some onion rings as an appetizer, since I was going to be frying the pork anyway. (I miss onion rings dreadfully, and these were delicious. Hit the spot!)

IMG_5307

So I thick-cut about 1/4 of a sweet onion, sliced the rest thinner for the stiry-fry, and smashed 5 cloves of garlic for that as well. Mixed rice flour, black pepper, garlic powder, kosher salt, and cayenne pepper together in a bowl, and cracked one egg into another bowl. I’d heated up about an inch deep oil in a frying pan on medium heat while I was doing all this, so it was nice and hot by the time I dredged the onion ring slices in the egg and then coated them in the flour mixture. I slid the onion slices into the hot oil and let them fry while I started the stir-fry.

I heated a thin coating of oil in another pan and began frying the garlic and the rest of the onion (in thinner slices, with no flour mixture on them). Then I added ginger to the flour mixture. Meanwhile, I cubed the pork and tossed that in the flour mixture (without egg) until it was well coated. By this time the onion rings were done, so I moved those onto some towels to cool and drain, and slid the pork into the hot oil to deep fry it.

While the pork was deep frying, I added soy sauce (gluten free, of course) and sesame oil to the small pan with the garlic and onions in, then drizzled about a tablespoon of honey over that mixture, stirred, and then let it reduce for a while as I checked the pork.

As the sauce was reducing, I added about 2 teaspoons of the flour mixture to it, for flavor and to help it thicken up a bit more. Quite soon, the pork was done and so was the sauce. So I poured the sauce off into a bowl, put the fried pork cubes in it, and mixed them together. Plated a bit of that and the onion rings, and voila! It was dinner.

It was very, very good, too. 😀 I wasn’t really sure this would work without the crock-pot, so I’m gratified that it was actually a little better, in some ways.

IMG_5309

Especially because there were onion rings. Oh, onion rings.

Author: Christine Na'imah

I am a pretty bubbly person. A dancer, a prancer, and sometimes a vixen. Romantic and striving for grace, but unfortunately the emphasis is on "antic"; occasionally lunatic, trying to be demure. Probably failing.

Leave a Reply

