Gluten-Free Cooking For One

Celiac And The Single Girl, Or: How To Make Food That Does Not Suck For One Person {Although I Suppose You Could Feed Other People, Too}

Homemade protein powder – teff, whey, & rice

Leave a comment

OK, folks. I whipped up a batch of this today and I want to put up the ingredients before I forget what I put in. Because I am so like that. lol

I didn’t have a couple of the ingredients (as always) so I faked it (as always). I’m drinking it in milk right now and I like the flavor ok, I can live with the level of grit, it seems good. Will let you know if I have any new thoughts later.

3 cups of instant non-fat dry milk
about a cup of teff flour (if you’ve never used teff, you should try it)
1 cup white rice flour (didn’t have brown)
lots of cinnamon – maybe 1.5 Tbsp
1 tsp nutmeg

Mix it up. Add to milk or smoothies. Voila!

I’m drinking 2 heaped spoons in about 10 oz of milk, well-stirred. It’s got a little grit to it, but very little. No more than most of the smoothies I make! I also didn’t add any sweetener — it’s not sweet but it’s not bitter or unpleasant. I wanted neutral and this is, except for the cinnamon. (I love cinnamon; I’ve often joked that I could probably eat a shoe if it had enough cinnamon on it.)

OK! I’ll check back in if I have any unexpected reactions or new thoughts!

Author: Christine Na'imah

I am a pretty bubbly person. A dancer, a prancer, and sometimes a vixen. Romantic and striving for grace, but unfortunately the emphasis is on "antic"; occasionally lunatic, trying to be demure. Probably failing.

Leave a Reply

