Gluten-Free Cooking For One

Celiac And The Single Girl, Or: How To Make Food That Does Not Suck For One Person {Although I Suppose You Could Feed Other People, Too}

Thin-Crust Quinoa Pizza Verdict: Delicious!!

Leave a comment

Today I started soaking quinoa about 8 hours ago so I could try a quinoa pizza crust, and let me tell you: it’s been well worth the wait!

Original recipe came from Oatmeal With A Fork, here:
http://www.oatmealwithafork.com/2014/05/19/thin-and-rustic-quinoa-pizza-crust-video/

And I ended up making the crust thus:

Thin and Rustic Quinoa Pizza Crust — Video is available at the link above!

Author: Lauren Goslin

Ingredients
1 c. quinoa, rinsed, soaked 8-24 hours, drained, rinsed again
1¼ t. baking powder
½ t. sea salt
pinch basil, oregano, thyme, and granulated garlic
¼ c. + 2 T. water
cooking spray

Instructions
Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
Process the soaked quinoa with the baking powder, salt, and water for 2-3 minutes until the batter is smooth (no lumps). (I used the blender, as the food processor is too much trouble for me tonight. It wasn’t as smooth, I’m sure; but it worked just fine!)
Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spray the parchment paper with oil.
Pour and spread the batter out to your desired thickness (1/4-1/3 inch thick).
Bake the crust for 20 minutes.
Top your crust with your desired topping choices.
Bake for another 5-10 minutes until toppings are cooked through.

Notes

  • You’re supposed to try to avoid holes in the crust, but I ended up with a couple. They didn’t hurt at all!
  • I also added basil, oregano, thyme, and granulated garlic (just a smidge) to the batter, because I like flavored crusts. It was a good idea, I think.
  • I topped mine with garlic slices / lots of mixed cheeses / olive oil / a little bit of the best food sauce ever (more to follow on that)
  • Yes, the uncovered crust edges will still taste reminiscent of quinoa; but where the toppings are, it tastes like pizza, and not even like a weird pizza. Just YUM.

I didn’t make the pizza sauce from the same website, or the white sauce, because by the time I was ready to make the crust I was *starving*! So I just plopped cheese and garlic down and hoped for the best. And it’s good. 😀 By the same token, I didn’t take many photos; but the original website has lots, as well as video, so I highly recommend strolling over there to see her site.

The quinoa crust  after baking. As you can see, it holds together well and yes, there is a hole. lol Oops!

The quinoa crust after baking. As you can see, it holds together well and yes, there is a hole. lol Oops!

Pretty much the best food spread in the world.  I'm going to see if I can make something like it - coming soon.

Pretty much the best food spread in the world. I’m going to see if I can make something like it – coming soon.


If you’d like to pick up some of this amazing spread, you can order it at https://www.loredanasproducts.com/phpsupercart/index.php?categoryid=2
(*I don’t receive any endorsement money or other considerations for saying this is awesome spread. I am a completely unpaid fan. Unfortunately.*)

The finished pizza, looking pretty homely. I'm too hungry to take really pretty glamor shots, and I was also too hungry to spread the cheese out nicely and make it pretty. It needs to be in my belly now. lol

The finished pizza, looking pretty homely. I’m too hungry to take really pretty glamor shots, and I was also too hungry to spread the cheese out nicely and make it pretty. It needs to be in my belly now. lol

Slices of the pizza... this is my second serving, so I can take a photo before I eat. (snicker)

Slices of the pizza… this is my second serving, so I can take a photo before I eat. :}

Author: Christine Na'imah

I am a pretty bubbly person. A dancer, a prancer, and sometimes a vixen. Romantic and striving for grace, but unfortunately the emphasis is on "antic"; occasionally lunatic, trying to be demure. Probably failing.

Leave a Reply

