Gluten-Free Cooking For One

Celiac And The Single Girl, Or: How To Make Food That Does Not Suck For One Person {Although I Suppose You Could Feed Other People, Too}

Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits

Leave a comment

So, Snaps has been a little under-the-weather due to some commercial snacks that didn’t agree with his tummy… and having had to buy new snacks after investing in the old ones and then having to get rid of them right away, consumed (har!) the last of the snacks budget for this month. Plus, with his tummy being sensitive, I want to know what’s in the treats he’s getting right now. So I came looking for my peanut-butter treats recipe…

…and failed utterly to find it. Dangit! This is supposed to be my recipe repository and reference area! Well. So I looked up, and used, another PB treat recipe, and it worked great. Here’s the link:
PB treats recipe

And I made it almost exactly as ordered, except I substituted rice flour for the wheat flour, and I didn’t roll out/cut cute shapes. That’s waaaay too fussy for something that’s just going straight into his belly. :} So I just pressed out small balls into “coins” for baking, and ended up with a nice batch of treats.

"Did you say treats?!"

“Did you say treats?!”

Oh! And I froze half the dough, as I had plenty of cookies when I was only half done, and I still had bread to bake that day. So we’ll see how the dough thaws!

Here’s the recipe, copied over. Thank you to Becky, the Cookie Rookie, for this recipe. 😀

PEANUT BUTTER DOG TREATS
make great homemade dog treats for your favorite pup, or favorite dog lover.
Author: the cookie rookie
Recipe type: pet treat

INGREDIENTS
2½ cups whole wheat flour (I used rice instead, as I’ve a strictly GF kitchen – see Becky’s note below about substitution)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup natural peanut butter
1 cup water
2 tablespoons honey
1 egg
***NOTE: some dogs are allergic to flour/wheat. if you want to make these wheat free, you can use rice flour of coconut flour as a replacement. they will work, but might change the consistency a bit. thanks so much to the readers who wrote it about this!

INSTRUCTIONS
1) preheat oven to 350F
2) In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, and the egg. Add peanut butter, water, honey and stir until you have stiff dough. the dough becomes very firm and sticky. you may need to use your hands, or the paddle attachment on your mixer.
3) On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough about ½ inch thick and use a cookie cutter to make fun shapes. the treats barely spread and rise, so get creative with your shapes.
4) Bake for 20 minutes, until golden.
5) Keep in an airtight container or give as gifts!

There was a slight change in the cookie, I think, with the rice flour; her cookies look crunchy, whereas mine are mostly soft. But – I gave out a bag of these to a neighbor lady, whose dog really liked them, Snaps is very happy with them, and so am I. 😀 And I have more to give to other folks as well. I’d call this a success!

Author: Christine Na'imah

I am a pretty bubbly person. A dancer, a prancer, and sometimes a vixen. Romantic and striving for grace, but unfortunately the emphasis is on "antic"; occasionally lunatic, trying to be demure. Probably failing.

Leave a Reply

