Gluten-Free Cooking For One

Celiac And The Single Girl, Or: How To Make Food That Does Not Suck For One Person {Although I Suppose You Could Feed Other People, Too}

Quasi-sliders on homemade brioche buns

Leave a comment

So for once I actually have GF hamburger buns (or something that will work as buns) in the house, and a good GF burger is a rarity here… I dropped by the store and grabbed some ground beef on manager’s special (booyah!!), then came home and prepared a wee feast. πŸ˜€

For the burgers, I mixed up about half the ground beef (I’m only using half and freezing the rest, because “cooking for one”. I won’t eat all of it before it goes bad, most likely). A nifty trick I picked up recently for getting extra air out of freezer bags containing raw meat: immerse the mostly closed bag, up to near the zipper, in a bowl of cold water before closing; the water pressure will push out much of the air for you, and this means you don’t have to do the “sucking the extra air out of the bag” trick on raw meat, because EW.

I put in chopped sweet white onion, garlic powder, salt, pepper, crumbs from 1/4 of a brioche roll that had got stale overnight, and Worcestershire sauce. Mmmmmmm.

Then cut one of the brioche rolls in half, buttered it, and fried it until brown in the pan. Fried up the patties (the rolls are small, so I got almost four palm-sized patties out of this). and put on the roll with a little ketchup. The onions browned up and got sweet and juicy, and — although I haven’t had a slider since before 2004 — that’s one of the features I remember being most characteristic… those sweet bursting onions (although theirs are fancier).

Delicious. For next time, I won’t be as cautious with the spices and W sauce. This effort was a little bland for perfection, but it’s going in the right direction. Got a favorite burger mixture you use? I’d love to hear it. πŸ˜€

Buns frying joyfully in the pan...

Buns frying joyfully in the pan…

The finished burger!! Hooray!!

The finished burger!! Hooray!!

Author: Christine Na'imah

I am a pretty bubbly person. A dancer, a prancer, and sometimes a vixen. Romantic and striving for grace, but unfortunately the emphasis is on "antic"; occasionally lunatic, trying to be demure. Probably failing.

Leave a Reply

