Gluten-Free Cooking For One

Celiac And The Single Girl, Or: How To Make Food That Does Not Suck For One Person {Although I Suppose You Could Feed Other People, Too}

Home-made Pill Pouches for my pooch!

Leave a comment

So I’m dropping my dog off with my brother and his family to stay while I’m on vacation – and yes, my dog has a blog. Shameless plug: Snaps About Town, Dog Of Mystery – and I wanted to make it as easy as possible for them to give him his morning medication. There are these little treats called “pill pockets” or “pouches” that the dog can swallow basically without chewing, and voila! Pill is down. Magic! But they are SUPER EXPENSIVE, and I can’t afford that right now. So I looked online and there are recipes for homemade pill pouches, and they’re quite simple. Of course, it’s a little different when you’re gluten free, and I also didn’t have any milk, so I had to make a substitution there too (also useful if you’re lactose intolerant or casein allergic).

Here’s the recipe:

1T milk (water will do as well)
1T crunchy peanut butter
2 T flour (any kind, I used rice)

Form into balls, store in fridge or you can even freeze them (I didn’t try this). I dusted with rice flour after as mine were still a bit gooey, but I also have health store PB so it’s got more oil sometimes. To give the pill to the dog, you just press the pill in, reform it, then give it to the dog. Hooray!

Author: Christine Na'imah

I am a pretty bubbly person. A dancer, a prancer, and sometimes a vixen. Romantic and striving for grace, but unfortunately the emphasis is on "antic"; occasionally lunatic, trying to be demure. Probably failing.

Leave a Reply

